World #1: Son of the Revolution

How am I going to tell her? How are we going to make it through this?

I had gotten lucky, that Lydia was with her parents for the weekend. It allowed me to sneak back into the apartment – sneak into my own apartment – and have a few people I’d met install blacks on the windows. So it was Sunday night, the night she was scheduled to come back, and I was standing around trying to figure out how I was going to explain the airplane-window style black coverings over the windows.

No, honey, it’s just that I got a new job and now I have to sleep in the daytime and the sun will wake me up… No it has nothing to do with being a vampire, why would you ever suggest such a ridiculous thing… No, I’ve always eaten my steak rare but really right now I’m not hungry…

Nothing I said was going to make any damn sense.

What was Lydia going to do when she found out her boyfriend had been turned into a vampire?

The weekend had been miserable. I’d been walking home from a friend’s house on Thursday night, ran into some idiot drunk in an alleyway – or at least that’s what I’d thought happened – and then the next thing he was biting me and my neck was on fire and then I was drinking something and I didn’t know what…

And then it was the next afternoon, waking up in a building I didn’t recognize, with my phone ringing and my girlfriend wondering why I hadn’t come home yet.

Turns out my sire (as it was; he’d done a piss-poor job of initiating me into the world) had dropped an unconscious me off at the local vampiric Embassy so that I didn’t ignite in the afternoon sun. How kind of him. They hooked me up with the local blood bank and a couple people that could put the necessary blacks on my apartment’s windows so that I could still live there, and we ended up where I am now.

Still looking for a way to keep Lydia in the dark. So to speak.

“Ally?” I heard her call as the door opened. I stepped out of the bedroom and gave her a small smile as she walked in. “Hey sweetheart, there you are. I got worried after the other night.”

She came over and gave me a hug, which I returned a bit more carefully than I probably had to. It was odd, getting used to the fact that the first thing I smelled when she hugged me wasn’t her perfume.

Humans are not blood bags. Humans are not blood bags. You have the blood bank giving you blood, you do NOT need to eat your girlfriend. Not an option.

“Oh, you know me. Always off on some crazy adventure.” I smirked.

She wasn’t buying it. There was no way I was pulling this off. “You feel cold. Are you sick?” She reached up to put the back of her hand to my forehead.

“Nah, just a little cool today, I guess. I feel fine.”

The frown got deeper. “You’re really chilled.”

“I’m fine, Lyd.” I kissed her forehead, pushing the instinct to bite in my mind. That was going to take getting used to. The Embassy had warned me about it, but…having it in front of me was another issue.

So glad I’d eaten before she got home.

She let me off the hook and went to put her bag back in the bedroom – and then there was another pause. “Alistair?”

Uh oh. Full name and not nickname was never good. “Yeah?”

“What’s on the windows?”

I came into the bedroom, feigning ignorance. Since it was nighttime, the blacks were pulled up – thus, over the windows was nothing, and I could see the city beneath my apartment. “Nothing; what are you talking about?”

She glared at me and reached up, pulling down a black halfway. “These. I’ve seen these on TV, Alistair.”

“They’ll sell anything on those late-night TV specials now,” I mused, losing at the conversation with every syllable I spoke. “You know, I got that job at the store, but I’m working third shift and I didn’t want the sun to wake me up…”

“Alistair.” Yup, I was done for. “I’m not an idiot.”

“I never would have said so about you,” I conceded immediately.

She gave me a look that said she knew exactly what I was doing, and she didn’t appreciate it. “Is there something you’d like to tell me?”

“I got a new job?” I walked up and put my hands on her waist.

“And I’m happy for you.” She leaned up on her tiptoes and kissed me softly. “But I don’t think that’s why you put sunshades on the windows.”

“Can you pretend it is, and I can pretend nothing’s changed?” I set my forehead against hers.

“Of course I can, if that’s really what you want. But I’d rather not have a secret that we probably both know sitting between us.”

I sighed. Ever the understanding and accepting one, my Lydia. What in the world I ever did to deserve her, I don’t know. Please…please don’t let this ruin everything.

“I got bitten by a vampire Thursday night, Lyd. I…I was turned. I spent most of the weekend at the Embassy trying to figure out what I was going to do.”

She pulled back a little to look at me, that same perfect smile on her face. “You should have known, silly.”

I blinked. “Kn—known what?”

“The answer to what you’d do.” When I just stared at her, and giggled and kissed my nose. “Come home, get the blacks up, tell your girlfriend, and then continue on with life.” She winked. “We’ll get through this. Don’t worry about a thing.”

I am one lucky bastard.

~ by R on July 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
